Dr. Jennifer I. Lim is the Director of the Retina Service and Vice Chair for Diversity & Inclusion at the University of Illinois at Chicago, where she holds the Marion H. Schenk Esq, Chair in Ophthalmology for Research in the Aging Eye as a UIC Distinguished Professor of Ophthalmology. She received her MD with Distinction from Northwestern University (Six-Years Honors Program in Medical Education), where she was AOA and received the Dean's AOA Student Research Award and the Julius Conn Memorial Award. She completed residency at University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary, receiving the Resident Research Award and American College of Surgeons Resident Competition Chicago Chapter Keeshin Prize. She completed medical and surgical retina fellowships at Wilmer Eye Institute of Johns Hopkins Hospital as a Heed Fellow and Heed Knapp Fellow. She joined the faculty of Emory University as an Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and was recruited to Doheny Eye Institute of University of Southern California (USC) as an Associate Professor with tenure and promoted to Professor. In 2007, she was recruited to UIC.

Her research interests include clinical trials, translational research and retinal imaging for which she has an R01 NIH

grant (Co-PI on "Differential artery-vein analysis in OCT angiography for objective classification of diabetic retinopathy".) She has received funding from the National Eye Institute, Macula Society Research Fund, American Cancer Society and numerous industry grants. She has been principal investigator in over 60 clinical trials and currently serves on several Data and Monitoring Committees.

Current leadership positions include Associate Editor for JAMA Ophthalmology, EyeWiki Deputy Editor-in-Chief, President of The Retina Society, IOVS Editorial Board member, AOA UIC Medical School Councilor, and UIC Faculty Senator. She is a past-President of Women in Ophthalmology (WIO), Chinese American Ophthalmology Society (CAOS) and Chicago Ophthalmological Society as well as co-founder of Women in Retina (WinR) and past Chair of WinR. She is the Program Chair for the American Ophthalmological Society and the immediate past-Program Chair of The Retina Society.

She has received the AAO Life Achievement Honor Award, AAO Secretariat Award, ASRS Presidential and Senior Honor Awards, Suzanne-Veronneau Troutman Award, ARVO Silver & Gold Fellow Awards, the Paul Henkind Memorial Award, Women in Ophthalmology Scientific Contribution Award, Chinese American Ophthalmology Service awards, USC teaching awards, ASRS Retina Hall of Fame, UIC Departmental Faculty of the Year Award, Mother McAuley Liberal Arts HS Hall of Honor Award, inaugural UIC Distinguished Sweeney Lecturer, UIC Morton F. Goldberg MD Alumna of the Year (2023), Chicago Super Docs, Best Doctors, & Top Doctors. She has authored over 300 articles, 30 book chapters and edited several books including Age-Related Macular Degeneration (now in the Third Edition) and the soon to be published, Case Studies in Medical Retina.